Giving the Mizuno Wave Rider 20s a Spin


I recently learned that I was getting the opportunity to try out a pair of the Mizuno Wave Rider 20 shoes thanks to being a part of the Fit Fluential network in exchange for writing a review.  Having just finished the Chicago Marathon with no big race on the horizon and also having worn out my latest pair shoes, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to try a brand and shoe that I had never previously used.

img_0131

After a week of primarily walking to recover from the marathon that saw me post a 3:14:09 and qualify for the 2018 Boston Marathon by over 10 minutes, I was finally ready to get back to running.  The perfect opportunity to try out these new shoes for the first time came with the Ohio State 4-Miler when I landed a last-minute entry.  So, I broke out the shoes for their maiden voyage.

I have a rule about new shoes.  Regardless of how many miles you run in them the first time, I feel like I need the first run to be fast to teach them good habits and let them know what is expected of them on race day.  Typically, I would not wear new shoes on race day, but I figured that since it was only four miles that I was pretty safe.

I lined up at the starting line outside of Ohio Stadium with nearly 15,000 other runners and was not really sure what to expect since I was just coming off the marathon.  I knew that the excitement of the event would get me going.

Little did I know how much speed I had in me on that morning.  I ended up finishing 49th out of 13,840 runners in a time of 25:17 (6:19 pace) which was a course record for me in the event.  The Mizuno Wave Rider 20s felt great!  In fact, I did not even notice what shoes I had on and they felt light and spacious the whole run.  I was hooked on them right away.

fullsizerender

In 10 runs over the past two weeks, I have already logged 87 miles in the shoes including five runs of 10 or more miles.  They have also already run in four different states (Ohio, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee).  I have not had any issues with the shoes and like how lightweight they are.  I’ll be interested to see how many miles I am able to log on them before they wear out and I also have not run farther than 11 miles in them yet and want to see if they have the cushioning necessary to hold up to rigors of marathon training.  Since I am still recovering from the marathon, I really do not have any plans for a long run any time soon and they may be worn out before I get a chance to use them for that.  Of course, if Mizuno wanted to send me another pair of size 12s in the awesome orange (officially clownfish orange), I would gladly accept them and put them to good use.

This line has been an extremely successful line for Mizuno over the past 20 years and they definitely nailed it with this special anniversary edition.  Not that it matters in the scheme of things, but the box they come in is pretty sweet, too, and sets the tone from the time you open them.  Well done and thanks for the opportunity to put these to good use!  I highly recommend checking them out if you are neutral shoe runner.

Leave a Reply

