Picking up the Pace with Puma Ignite

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to try out a pair of the brand new Puma Ignite running shoes as a Fit Fluential ambassador.  I had never even tried on a Puma shoe before and I was excited to see what they were all about.

IMG_2405I received two packages…one with the shoes and one with a nice short sleeve tech shirt and a pair of running shorts.  While I know that this product review is mainly about the shoes, I do have to say that they shirt is really nice and the shorts may be the best shorts I’ve ever worn from a sweat-wicking standpoint.  I sweat a lot when I run and these shorts did the best job of any that I’ve worn to date of keeping the moisture to a minimum.  That alone made this product review a win for me.

Now to the Puma Ignite shoes.  I really was not sure what to expect when I agreed to do this review since I had never worn any shoes manufactured by Puma.  I was pleasantly surprised when they felt comfortable right out of the box and I ran eight miles in them successfully with no issues on their first outing.

Puma touts the Ignite as their most responsive running shoe ever.  There is full length foam midsole for high rebound cushioning and more foam in the heel to disperse impact and provide extra durability.  Probably the feature that I like the best is the fact that the foam provided an instant comfort feel from the moment I stepped into the shoe.

Since I’m in the final stages of Boston Marathon training with the race just three weeks from today, I did not do my 22-mile run on Saturday in these shoes because I had never gone double digits in them and that is one of my rules with any new pair of shoes and I did not want to take the risk of possibly getting blisters.  However, on Sunday, I decided to see how they felt on tired legs and managed to run a 6:14 mile on an indoor track on the way to a 6:32-paced 5K.  Then, I tackled my longest run to-date in them with 12 miles this morning before work and they felt great.

IMG_2498These shoes have many positives.  They look great and feel great right out of the box.  They get good traction on the road surfaces I’ve used them on and on the indoor track, and I also had one run on wet pavement that was not an issue.  They feel light and definitely allow for speed.  The only thing I can’t report on at this point with clarity is how durable they are with total mileage before needing replaced and how well they do at marathon distance.  However, from everything I’ve seen, I’m sure I’ll have those answers in the coming months.  I’m definitely glad that I had the opportunity to Ignite my run with these shoes while also finding out more about this brand.

This post is sponsored by FitFluential on behalf of PUMA.

//

Leave a Reply

